Big Dreams.

Over the past two weeks in COMM 2322, Public Relations Applications, we have been touching on the basics of the public relations profession. Because I don’t really know a lot about the PR field, I began to research different PR careers that would suit my style and my talents. I love sports so I began to explore public relations in the world of professional athletics. On Women Sports Jobs.com I found three careers that are associated with PR and the duties performed in these areas:

Public Relations Director
Writing press releases
Producing publications
Organizing press box activities
Compiling and updating statistics
Web-site maintenance
Supporting the inhouse broadcasting department

Community Relations Director
Represent the interests of those who don’t keep up with the team
Works to ensure the community sees the team as an asset with media, professional teams also need people Develop bonds with the public through charity auctions/festivals 

Promotions Manager
Build an exciting atmosphere around the game
Create, plan, coordinate, execute game-day activities that attract sponsors and fans

I believe out of these three areas, promotions manager is the most attractive. I would love creating events where fans interact with the teams. For example, when I was little I met Golden glove shortstop Omar Vizquel while participating in his pre-game television show. It was a dream come true when I got to ask him my question on regionally broadcasted television. “If you could be on any other team other than the Cleveland Indians what would it be?” Omar answered, “I wouldn’t want to play anywhere else.” I talked to my role model, shook his hand, and got his autograph. It was one of the most memorable days of my life. I would love to make a child’s dream come true just as a promotions manager helped mine come true.

Cleveland's Progressive Field

Furthermore, I love the electric atmosphere of a baseball stadium or a basketball arena. Being a part of that community every day would make me one happy person! As my theology professor once said, “there is just something spiritual about walking into a stadium. The sights. The smells. The sounds. You know God is there watching.”

What direction do you want to go in the public relations profession? Sports? Politics? Fashion? Let your voice be heard 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under PR Connections

One response to “Big Dreams.

  1. Wow, I really loved your blog. It is so exciting that we are finally getting to the point in our lives where we can start looking into careers. I feel like this is what I have been looking forward to my entire life! It is also encouraging to think that we are going to be doing something that we love! I have done the same thing, where I have gone to different websites and searched careers that people have in public relations, and every time I do it, I get really excited. I found another good website http://www.collegegrad.com/jobs/, if you would ever want to check that one out too! Thanks so much for the interesting information.

Leave a Reply

