Did You Know?

In my Media Management class at Southeastern University, my professor introduced my class to this video called “Did You Know.” This presentation highlights the rapid growth of technology and the influence the Internet has on today’s society.

Check it out:

I hope you got a chance to watch this video clip because the facts presented are astounding! Does this information, however, relate to public relations? The answer is “definitely!”

Public relations is a career dedicated to a life of problem solving. Professionals must figure out how to promote a new product, service, or event, how to identify potential threats within a company, and how to restore reputations during and after a crisis. One piece of information that was important for potential public relations practitioners to be aware of is that “the top 10 in-demand jobs did not exist in 2004. We are currently preparing students for jobs that don’t yet exist using technologies that haven’t been invented in order to solve problems we don’t even know are problems yet.” Why is this important? Public relations professionals of the future are going to be required to work with companies that utilize technologies that are even in development yet. That means PR is always going to be changing as our society continues to innovate. PR professionals must constantly be the top of their game.

In addition, this video proves that social media is an increasingly important outlet for PR firms to reach their targeted publics. For example, 200 million individuals have created a MySpace account. According to the video, “If MySpace were a country, it would be the 5th largest in the world, between Indonesia and Brazil.” Furthermore, it took Facebook only 2 years to reach an audience of 5o million. This is a drastically short period of time when compared to more ancient forms of media such as the radio or television. Social Media sites allow PR professionals to reach more people more efficiently, giving them the ability to spread their message at extremely rapid rates unlike never before.

I don’t know about you, but I’m excited to see how the innovations in social media sites influence the way public relations works!

7 Comments

Filed under PR Connections

7 responses to “Did You Know?

  1. I really enjoyed watching that video in Professor Langley’s media management class. It is so crazy to think how quickly things happen and change. It is actually kind of scary, for me at least, because I feel like what we learn now in school is going to be irrelevant. Well, it is actually pretty much proven that it will be irrelevant. So I ask myself, why am I going to college? Why am I putting myself through all of this? I guess I have come to the conclusion that college is more about the things you learn about yourself and relating to others than anything else. College is about the experience. So what am I doing here sitting in my room working on homework??? Well…. I don’t know!

  2. Pingback: Blog Comments « Inside the world of Public Relations

  3. Wow! I never thought about it that way. I totally agree with you and how college is more about learning about yourself. It is a time where we separate our strengths from our weaknesses to figure out what area our talents would be best applied in. Thanks for your comment.

  4. Our world is rapidly changing and as much as I try to fight it, I have to change too. Everything we know is going to change, maybe the better maybe for the worse..but isn’t that part of life? Watching as things unfold and trusting God for everything? I agree with Mikelle in that college is about finding yourself and learning to live in the real world. I’m a junior and I’m still changing and learning things about myself and other people I thought I already knew. After watching the video I just think it means that things change, it’s inevitable. I know one thing is that life in the future is going to be different.

  5. Pingback: Blog Comments for COMM 2322 « Exploring the World Around

  6. This video was pretty great! I find it very surprising how much we are influenced by the Internet. Although, when I think about it, it’s not surprising at the same time. I cannot think of anyone I know who doesn’t have access to a computer or the internet for that matter. Everyone nowadays has become so intrigued and fascinated with the latest gadget, and sometimes companies come out with a lot of the same things, so it’s really hard to keep up with at times.

  7. Pingback: My Comments « Megan Ginger

Leave a Reply

