Approaching the Finish Line

Topic of the Week 16
Blogging Tips

I’m going to share something with you – I was nervous to take this class. At the end of the fall semester I decided to pursue a degree in Journalism/Public Relations and it was time to start my communication classes. For a few days while creating my schedule, I went back and forth, trying to decide if I was ready to take this class or not. Would it be too difficult? Would I just be terrible at “communication?”

As I near the end of the semester, I am able to reflect upon my decision to take Public Relations Applications and I can truly say I am glad I did. I learned about the basics of public relations, further defined my calling, and even learned about a PR technique that I am pretty sure I will continue for the rest of my life – blogging!

So for all of you future PR students, or those who like me, aren’t sure if you can handle  it, here are a few blogging tips to help you  out.

MY TOP 10!
10. Interesting titles make readers curious about your post and cause them to want to read more. Personally, when reading other students blogs, I tended to ignore those titled “T.O.W 7” because that told me nothing about the content.

9. Use bulleted lists for clarity and organization. Also allows your readers to gain important information quickly.

8. Import YouTube videos into your blog when necessary. Here’s how: find a video and click then “embed” tab directly below the video. Then copy the code. Finally, paste the code onto your blog, but be sure to paste it into the “HTML” section. This can be accessed on the top, right-hand corner of your text area. Then click publish! It’s that easy.

7. Import images onto your blog from Compfight.com.

6. Organize your posts by creating categories. And for those people who just love being organized, further categorize your blog posts using post tags. These organize posts into different topics.

5. Keep up with the classwork. This means actually following the syllabus and doing what it says is assigned that week!

4. When it comes to PR Connections, write about something that interest you. That way you will actually want to do them and have some opinions to share with your readers. For example, I tended to write about issues in sports.

3. Proofread, Proofread, Proofread! As you start blogging about other PR professionals, their names will appear on Google Alerts. Don’t be surprised if they visit your site too! Good grammar = Good impression!

2. Explore the blog world and when you find something you like, comment on it! It helps you create an audience.

1. Finally, when someone comments on your blog, return the favor and comment on theirs. This shows that instead of caring about yourself, you care about your audience more! And people just like that 🙂

I hope these tips help even the most novice blogger! Good luck!

2 Comments

Filed under Topic of the Week

2 responses to “Approaching the Finish Line

  1. I’m surprised to hear that you were nervous about taking this class and communicating, because your communication skills are very impressive! Trust me, you don’t need to worry; I, for one, have been impressed by your blog all semester. 🙂

    Your list contains a lot of good advice, especially regarding writing about topics that you find interesting. When I first began blogging, I thought the whole thing would become a chore, because I didn’t really care about the things I was writing about. Finally, I began to find ways to incorporate my interests into my posts, especially through the PR connections assignments. There is always some way to connect your interests with your assigned posts, even if it doesn’t appear that way at first. Writing about your own interests makes all the difference.

    Your advice about proofreading is also wise. I never even considered that PR professionals would read my blog, but that makes complete sense if they have Google Alerts. Once again, great post!

  2. Pingback: Comments on other blogs « Brianna's COMM 2322 Blog

Leave a Reply

